Weasel Word Wednesday #7 – traction

Thanks to Stilgherrian for reminding me of this one in a post on Twitter this morning:

This year I shall spit upon everyone who says “gaining traction”, unless they’re talking about adhesive friction or orthopedics.

Couldn’t agree more. No, I don’t mind hearing about traction (or loss of it) when I’m out at a track day with the BMW Drivers Club, but I’d rather not hear about companies, products or people ‘gaining traction’ when all they usually mean is that someone listened to them or bought their stuff.

Leave a Reply

