Weasel Word Wednesday #20 – cadence

In a sales meeting a few weeks ago, I heard at least three different presenters use the word ‘cadence’, more than once. My weasel word antennae shot up. From the context, I couldn’t work out what it meant… something about doing something quickly, regularly or in a timely fashion?  Then it came up again in a company meeting yesterday, this time from HR.

A quick look in the Macquarie dictionary tells me:

cadence n. 1. rhythmic flow, as of verses; rhythm. 2. the beat of any rhythmical movement. 3. a fall in the pitch of the voice, as in speaking. 4. the general modulation of the voice. 5.  Music a sequence of notes or chords which indicate the momentary or complete end of a composition, section, phrase, etc.

From that definition, I can’t see any reason for it to be used it a business context, other than to hide the truth, confuse or attempt to impress. A perfect example of a weasel word. Here it is in context in extracts from a white paper written for sales executives:

[X]… should provide focused service delivery against KIs and have a regular communication cadence with the [salesperson]

Follow the cadence as outlined in the [X]  methodology (e.g. review meetings every 3 to 6 months), once the relationship has been established.

Next time I see the folk who used it I will ask them what it means. I’m looking forward to the answers already!

2 responses to “Weasel Word Wednesday #20 – cadence

  1. About time this word was returned to its proper context.

  2. Julian Franqui

    This one is up there in my personal “Words I Swear to Never Use” list. I wish our “thought leadership” would stop using the word and save me some money on blood pressure medication.

Leave a Reply

